Staying Together Apart

Dearest Austin Galano Club Community,

May this note find each of you in good mental, emotional, and physical health as we collectively endure the continued challenges of pandemic life. We hope you are staying connected with loved ones and friends, attending virtual meetings, engaging in safe social practices, and finding value in your altered routines. “One day at a time” are words to truly live by!

At this point, the club will remain closed for the foreseeable future. The Board is keeping our eye on the latest COVID-19 trends and the city’s response. We are specifically looking at the guidelines for group gatherings. As you know, we are currently in Stage 4. Groups of 10+ are strongly discouraged. Here are the local COVID-19 Risk-Based Guidelines. 

We want to reassure you that the Board is working diligently behind the scenes to prepare the club for reopening. We are meeting every two weeks to draft and formalize our reopening procedures. We are basically writing the book “How AGC Responds to a Pandemic”. As you can imagine, this is no small feat! These procedures are meant to ensure your individual safety and health, as well as that of the entire AGC community. We are considering all aspects of club culture and functioning, as well as the precautionary guidelines put forth by local and national health authorities.

Galano's Got Talent! Sat., Aug. 8 from 6 - 8 p.m.

Galano’s Got Talent! Sat., Aug. 8 from 6 – 8 p.m.

The Board is also brainstorming various community engagement ideas to keep the AGC spirit alive during our closure. We are really excited to announce our “AGC on the Eights” series! In honor of the club’s 8th anniversary in July 2020, we are organizing Zoom events on Aug 8th, 18th, and 28th. Details for each event can be found on our website, Facebook page, and private Facebook group. The event this Saturday, August 8th is our TALENT SHOW! We look forward to seeing you and sharing in the delight of our club members’ many talents. If you have a talent you’d like to showcase, please let us know! It’s not too late to add you to the line-up.

Likewise, we are calling on the community—YOU—to help with events in September on the 8th, 18th, or 28th. Please contact one of us if you’d like to host an event! You can decide the theme and content. We’d LOVE to have your leadership and involvement in our community engagements!

Lastly, we will soon release photos and a more formal update on the bathroom renovation/creation. Our contractor and community member, David Bravo, has been a tremendous help as we navigate this project. We also want to thank all who donated money to help fund the work – $6,823 has been raised so far! The Board will launch the next fundraising  campaign soon. Details are forthcoming! In the meantime, donations for the bathrooms and general club operating costs can be made through the Galano website.

Please continue to take care of yourselves and one another, particularly our most vulnerable community members, and be in touch. We are here for you.

Ever sincerely, your humble trusted servants in recovery, unity, and service,

Mara W. mara.w@austingalano.org

James Y. james.y@austingalano.org

Lauren O. lauren.o@austingalano.org

Jamie S. jamie.s@austingalano.org

Jamal W. jamal.w@austingalano.org

Madison B. madison.b@austingalano.org

Loretta M. loretta@austingalano.org

Mel H. mel.h@austingalano.org

Blake P. blake.p@austingalano.org

Robert Q. robert@austingalano.org

Marvin T. marvin.t@austingalano.org

Posted in 2020 Posts Tagged with: , , , , , ,

I Am Galano

Austin Galano Club is more than a building, it is the people who support it!

While the Galano Club is closed, we suspended rent for groups that meet here. Please donate to AGC or your group to cover operating costs that persist during this closure.

Donate

Virtual Meetings

All meetings are LGBTQIA+ sensitive and non-smoking.

Daily Meditation