Galano Board Decides to Remain Closed

Thank You For Participating in Our Survey

To our beloved Austin Galano Club Community,

The Board of Directors met May 27 to continue our ongoing discussion about the club’s eventual reopening. At this moment, we do not have a date for reopening.

Based on the community survey results, it was fairly split it terms of staying closed or reopening. However, for those who do want to resume in person meetings, they were most comfortable reopening at 50% capacity. With this in mind, the Board is working diligently on the details and logistics of what that would look like for the club and the groups who call Galano home. Your health is our top priority. There is a lot to consider—social distancing, the wearing of face masks, additional cleaning procedures, whether or not to reopen the coffee bar, etc.—in order to make our reopening safe for those who choose to return to in-person meetings. Much of the responsibility of carrying out new protocols will be held at the group level. We ask you, as individuals and as groups, for your patience, compassion, understanding, and adherence as we transition to this new way of doing things—now and in the months ahead. Please see a summary of the survey results below.

During our closure, we have made progress on the long-awaited creation of an ADA compliant bathroom adjacent to the women’s restroom and the renovation of the existing bathrooms. Our goal is to have this completed by our reopening date. This project has many contributors and the board would like to specifically thank David Bravo for his expertise and time spent overseeing things. We are appreciative of his invaluable service. We are also planning a community-wide fundraiser to help cover a portion of the cost of this project. Details of the fundraiser are forthcoming.

The Board decided to continue the suspension of group rent until we reopen, though we do encourage each group to contribute what they can. We have ongoing and new expenses at a time when we are seeing a decline in our usual monthly revenue to cover operating costs. We would like to thank the groups who have paid rent these past few months. Your contributions are much appreciated. These funds have helped with facility maintenance during our closure. Contact treasurer@austingalano.org,if you have any questions about how to make group contributions.

Please consider making a one-time donation to help offset the costs of the club’s reopening and the bathroom project. You can make your donation here: Austin Galano Club.

Lastly, if you’re wondering about other ways you can help with our reopening, please consider donating disinfectant wipes and hand sanitizer. We are working to acquire these goods, but they can be hard to find. If you’re out and about and see them in stores, please consider buying some for the club. We will organize collecting such goods prior to our reopening.

The Board will continue to keep you posted over the upcoming weeks. If you have any questions or suggestions, please do not hesitate to contact us. We miss you dearly and are so appreciative of how well you’re enduring these challenging times. We look forward to being together again. Until then, be well and be safe.

Ever sincerely, your humble trusted servants in recovery, unity, and service,

Mara W. mara.w@austingalano.org

James Y. james.y@austingalano.org

Lauren O. lauren.o@austingalano.org

Jamie S. jamie.s@austingalano.org

Jamal W. jamal.w@austingalano.org

Madison B. madison.b@austingalano.org

Loretta M. loretta@austingalano.org

Mel H. mel.h@austingalano.org

Blake P. blake.p@austingalano.org

Robert Q. robert@austingalano.org

Marvin T. marvin.t@austingalano.org


 agc-reopening-survey-6-1-2020

Posted in 2020 Posts Tagged with: , , , , ,

I Am Galano

Austin Galano Club is more than a building, it is the people who support it!

While the Galano Club is closed, we suspended rent for groups that meet here. Please donate to AGC or your group to cover operating costs that persist during this closure.

Donate

Virtual Meetings

All meetings are LGBTQIA+ sensitive and non-smoking.

Daily Meditation