Help Support Galano Club Through Newly Extended Closure

Dearest Austin Galano Club Community,

The Board had hoped to announce our reopening with our next letter to you. Unfortunately, the numbers of COVID-19 cases in Austin and Travis County have propelled us into Stage 4 guidelines as announced by Mayor Steve Adler on Monday, June 15. Part of these guidelines include the prohibition of gatherings of 10 or more people who are not in a family unit. While we may consider one another as family, the Board has decided to remain closed until further notice. It is our hope that we will be able to reopen mid-August, per the expiration of the mayor’s current “Stay Home, Work Safe” order on August 15, 2020. 

In the meantime, we encourage our groups and club members to take advantage of upcoming community virtual events, including a talent show, lounge “hangout”, and the 8th anniversary of the club. Details  are coming soon! Please reach out to us if you have suggestions for activities we can organize to keep the AGC spirit in the air.

We know that AGC is more than a physical space. We are a community that comes together in good times and bad. The “I Am Galano” campaign was recently launched with the intention of highlighting each of you who make AGC the unique, resilient, and beautiful community that it is. Please submit your video reflections about why YOU are Galano and consider becoming a sustaining member and donate to AGC! Sustaining membership helps us cover annual costs of club operation, renovation, and maintenance. Email your videos or questions about the campaign to IAmGalano@austingalano.org. We can’t wait to see your faces and hear your voices!

The Board upholds its position of not charging groups rent during this period of closure. As always, we strongly encourage each group to contribute what they can. Any amount helps! We have ongoing operating costs and new expenses at a time when we are seeing a decline in our monthly revenue. We would like to acknowledge the groups that have paid rent these past few months. THANK YOU! Your contributions are much appreciated. These funds have helped with facility maintenance during our closure. Contact treasurer@austingalano.org if you have questions about how to make group contributions.

Please consider making a one-time donation to help offset the costs of the club’s reopening and the ADA/unisex family bathroom project. Pictures of the renovation and fundraising efforts are forthcoming. In the meantime, you can make your donations for reopening and bathroom renovation costs. 

The Board will continue to be in touch over the coming weeks and months. We miss you all dearly. Please continue to support one another in recovery. If you’ve wondered about someone lately or miss a particular person, or perhaps there is someone who is more vulnerable than most who you’re thinking of, take the time to reach out and check on them. Let’s not let any of our members fall through the cracks. We look forward to being together again. Until then, be well, be safe, and be in touch.

Ever sincerely, your humble trusted servants in recovery, unity, and service,

Mara W. mara.w@austingalano.org

James Y. james.y@austingalano.org

Lauren O. lauren.o@austingalano.org

Jamie S. jamie.s@austingalano.org

Jamal W. jamal.w@austingalano.org

Madison B. madison.b@austingalano.org

Loretta M. loretta@austingalano.org

Mel H. mel.h@austingalano.org

Blake P. blake.p@austingalano.org

Robert Q. robert@austingalano.org

Marvin T. marvin.t@austingalano.org

Posted in 2020 Posts Tagged with: , , , , , , ,

I Am Galano

Austin Galano Club is more than a building, it is the people who support it!

While the Galano Club is closed, we suspended rent for groups that meet here. Please donate to AGC or your group to cover operating costs that persist during this closure.

Donate

Virtual Meetings

All meetings are LGBTQIA+ sensitive and non-smoking.

Daily Meditation